Posted by: Garrick | July 25, 2007

$150 Linux Laptop, and not the OLPC..[UPDATE: Beware, probably a scam!!]

For $150 you get:

  • 1.5 Ghz Celeron
  • 14″ wide screen LCD
  • 256 Mb RAM
  • 40 Gb Hard Drive
  • WiFi
  • Optimized Fedora Core Linux OS
  • VIA PN800 integrated graphics
  • CD/DVD drive

Hmmm. That seems much more powerful than our friend at OLPC, and more affordable/available.

For those looking for a cheap web browsing laptop, this may be for you.

[product page]

[Update]

I am currently running under the assumption that this is in fact a scam. I f you can give me proof otherwise, great. If not, then I got Dugg because of a bullshit post, and I’m sorry.

Responses

  1. This is a scam, read up on Engadget and Slashdot.

  2. Just found out about it. Will post an update once I get to my computer.
    Thanks for the heads up.

  3. Is this really a scam?

  4. This is not a scam. it is the real deal.

    I am buying one for everyone in my family.

  5. tinfoilhat, what makes you so sure that it’s not a scam? They say there’s a 4- to 6-week lead time, so you can’t possibly have one yet. How do you know they’re going to actually send you a laptop? I’m not saying you’re wrong, just that there seems to be no way to know yet if you’re right.

    I’m open to the idea that prices really have dropped that far, and/or that this company has picked up huge amounts of overstock on these components from someone else, but it does seem a little fishy.

  6. ¨ This is not a scam. it is the real deal.

    I am buying one for everyone in my family. ¨

    SCAM SCAM SCAM, there is no way that this is real, no one buy one of these

  7. For the record, I believe this is a scam.
    Unfortunately, I am posting from my Treo right now, and can’t edit the post until I get home.

    I highly discourage anyone from ordering these laptops (or anything from this company) until they can be verified as legit.

    Hopefully I will be able to update this post in the next hour.

  8. Not sure how fast this machine would be even with the build it claims. Seems fishy to me. Although, just to be thorough it would be interesting to see these guys get busted if in fact they are scamming!

  9. I would love to find out that this isn’t a scam, but its doubtful.
    If legit, I would pick up at least one of these.
    From what I have found since I posted tis is that the LCD screen itself would cost close to this price, surplus parts or not.

  10. […] $150 Linux Laptop, and not the OLPC..[UPDATE: Beware, probably a scam!!] For $150 you get: […]

  11. Scam!

    Read the fine print…

    “Pricing, specifications, availability and terms of offers may change without notice. Taxes, fees, shipping and handling and any applicable restocking charges are extra, and vary.”

    “The phone lines are temporarily closed”


Leave a Reply

Categories

