Posted by: Garrick | October 9, 2006

Nikon Coolpix L3


Yesterday I bought a Nikon Coolpix L3 in anticipation for an Eastern Caribbean cruise we are leaving for on Friday. We needed a small “point & shoot” to carry as apposed to the cumbersome Nikon D2H and D2X my wife carries. That and I’d rather bring a $140 digital around with me than a $10,000 DSLR+lenses.
The L3 is a great camera for the price. For under $150 you get a 5.1 mega pixel, Nikkor 3x optical zoom, a bright 2 inch LCD screen, and surprisingly good picture quality. Its only downfall so far has been the elapsed time between shots. In a well lit area you can knock off about 1 shot every 1.3 seconds. In flash mode that time easily triples or more depending on the mode. It also takes good video, and uses common SD cards for storage. That gave me a chance to salvage the old SD cards I had from a Konica Minolta for this.

But like I said, this is a vacation camera, not a pro model. So far I am very happy with my purchase.

Leave a Reply

Categories

